Helen O'Connell

13 Item(s)

per page

  • Get Happy

    Arranged by Sammy Nestico for singer Helen O'Connell, this swinging arrangement was never recorded to the best of our knowledge. It was, however, performed live on the radio in 1970. This is not a transtription, the original manuscript was used. The chart begins with a great figure in the Basie tradition. Alto 1 doubles on clarinet. Learn More
  • Hey There

    BIG BAND GIRL VOCAL CHART. Here is a lovely vocal version of the famous standard as arranged by Hal Mooney and performed by Helen O'connell. There is nothing complicated about this arrangement - it is light and swinging, a great showcase for your vocalist. For added interest there are some brief arco bass passages. Learn More
  • I Cried For You

    The original Marion Evans manuscript has been used for this Helen O.Connell arrangement. Beginning with a bouncy swing figure in the reeds and drums on brushes. The trumpets come in with a nice syncopated melody behind the vocals with Harmon mutes on. In the middle there is brass soli followed by a reed soli that leads to an 8-bar trombone solo (trombone2). The solo has not been written out, chord changes have been supplied. Learn More
  • I'm Getting Sentimental Over You

    Recorded by Helen O'Connell in the early 1950s. This is not a transcription, the original handwritten manuscript was used to produce this arrangement. The chart opens in Bb with the brass on cup mutes and played very straight(without vibrato). Towards the end it modulates to C. The brass ranges are moderate. This is a great chance to play a classic, swing era vocal arrangement from the pen of the master. Learn More
  • I've Got The World On A String

    This is the original Helen O'Connell version of "I've Got The World on a String", as recorded with the Ray Anthony Orchestra in his 1953 Chesterfield Show.  It is not a transcription.  Although a short chart in actual playing time, it is full of punch, energy and drive, and in itself is a piece of American musical history.  There are no Sax doubles and the vocal key is Bb throughout. Learn More
  • Love Me or Leave Me

    This bluesy chart by Hal Mooney was arranged for Helen O'Connell to be recorded for Capital Records in 1951. However we believe it never happened. The chart opens with a 2-bar, minor blues vamp featuring a muted trumpet solo. From there the vocals enter in Bb minor(Db major). The middle of the arrangement features an 8-bar piano solo. There are no sax doubles. Learn More

    Regular Price: £55.00

    Special Price £41.25

  • Star Eyes

    This chart flows nicely and supports the singer well. Helen O'Connell also recorded a version of this song in 1953. That version featured strings, celeste, a harp, flute, clarinets and bass clarinets. There aren't any complicated passages nor are there any doubles.The duration of the chart is just over 3 minutes. Learn More
  • This Girl's In Love With You

    This classic 60's tune was written by the great team of Burt Bacharach & Hal David. This arrangement is an original Hal Mooney chart, as sung by Helen O'Connell on her many concert tours, though as far as we know she never recorded it. The arrangement is a classy piece of smooth & mellow writing, with the band never overpowering the vocalist. The brass ranges are moderate, there are no sax doubles & the vocal key is Ab throughout. A great little chart for those times when you need to dim the lights & soften the mood. Learn More
  • Till There Was You

    Our transcription is of the Helen O'Connell version, originally recorded in 1963. This particular version of the tune is full of tonal colour and is unusual for its time, because the Sax section is scored in Miller voicing (CAATT), with a Clarinet lead throughout. The 4th Trombone is a Bass. The vocal would suit an Alto voice. Duration 3'10". Learn More
  • Time Was

    This is the original Helen O'Connell version of Time Was, from her 1957 album "Green Eyes", as recorded with the Marion Evans Orchestra, & it opens as a beautifully scored lush ballad which switches into a double-time swing feel half way through the chart. The reeds are written AATTB, with AATT all expected to double Clarinet, & the Baritone to double Bass Clarinet. However, we recognise that not every sax team can cope with this, so we have written alternate sax parts which do not have any required instrument doubles. These parts are printed on the reverse of the original sax parts. The vocal key is Bb throughout. Learn More
  • What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life

    This Arrangement begins rubato with a brief ensemble passage featuring arco bass. This proceeds to a piano/bass colla voce for the A section of the tune. The band is cued in at B in soft rock style with drums on brushes. At the end of the chorus there is a brief piano/bass colla voce that features a quote from the song "All the Things You Are". The band is then cued back in for the last A section of the tune. The chart finishes with a rubato section with arco bass. This is not a transcription. Learn More
  • When the Sun Come Out

    This is the original Helen O'Connell version, from her 1957 album "Green Eyes", as recorded with the Marion Evans Orchestra. It is a richly textured & lush, bluesy ballad perfectly suited to a female alto voice. The reeds are written AATTB, with no sax doubles. Brass ranges are very playable too, with lead Trumpet up to high C & 2, 3 & 4 called to reach high Bb. Lead Trombone is written to Bb, with 2 & 3 written to A. The vocal key is G throughout the chart. Although the tempo is indicated at 65 b.p.m. the chart works well at tempos up to 80 b.p.m. Learn More
  • Who Cares

    This arrangement moves at a brisk pace of approx. 240 bpm (quarter note) and features a lot of beautifully crafted, syncopated unison lines. The drummer can really shine on this chart as crisp accents can help carry the band during the shout sections. The trombones open on plungers. There is a brief interlude that originally featured someone in the band calling out "Just one more once, baby!". We have included this part as a 'band yell' as it is a nice break in the action and can provide a bit of humour. There are no doubles. Learn More

13 Item(s)

per page

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.
POWERHOUSE ORCHESTRATIONS Pembroke Suite, Upper Pendrill Court, Ermine Street North, Papworth Everard, Cambridge, CB23 3UY Tel / Fax +44 (0)1480 830347